Another Photo, of a Vietnam $20 Dong Dollar Bill This Time

This time I did a money converter on my $20 Dollar Vietnamese Dong Bill from their VND to our USD ! The converter said that my 44 year old bill is now worth $.0000909078 of one US Dollars!!!!! We were paid by the U.S. Army in Military Pay Currency Bills. The Army had to make changes with their MPCs at the intervals of I believe every 2 or 3 months with their colors. The Vietnamese people would always sells our Main Base Camp Heros their old MPCs at 1/2 rate or more on the day of our exchange with our Pay Masters! They were equivalent to dollar per dollar. Of course we weren’t explained this. We had to Barter with the Vietnamese People with their prices on such goods as cokes, pepsis, and Poncho Jackets complete w/ a lining made from our Poncho liners. During the Monsoon Rains which lasted 24/7 to what appeared for roughly 3 months, they were worth their weight in GOLD We knew they were poor Peasant People and what the hetck we didn’t know if we would be alive in the next minute! I use to carry my undesireable C-Rations, like Ham and Mothers (Ham and Lima Beans) and my Tropical Chocolate Bars and give them to the little Montagnard Kids. They especially loved the Chocolate Bars even though they tasted awful to us G.I.s. They often gave us their prize possessions, their cheap braclets as their/our frindship. I didn’t really understand the meaning of their braclets until abt. 20 years ago, I read on the internet that whoever accepted their braclets, like me, promises to take care of then when or if their parents were killed at the hands of the North Vietnamese Army soldiers. I returned my original bracelet back to the Montagnard People Organization called STMP (Save The Montagnard People). I read that our Special Ops (Green Berets in N.C.) arranged for them both Financially as well as their love for these people to settle them in Ashboro, N.C. I also purchased one of their modern Bracelets from them with a donation to their Organization!           

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rodney Braithwaite
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 15:37:38

    Where can i convert one of these into US currency?

    Reply

Leave a comment